[DE&A]A1: Daily measures project

Possible data collection plan

  • Time waste : We all have 24 hours a day, and Because I tend to waste time and I personally think that I am bad at time management. Therefore, recording how I spend time would be good to notice if I am actually wasting time and if so how long I waste time.

(Risk: Maybe it is hard to decide if I am wasting time or not/ forget to record)

  • Collecting food waste : Tracking food leftovers + food package + utensils

(Not very interested and I do not have much choice if I eat outside)

  • Over consuming : I always have my own shopping list, however I always buy extra things and over consume because of different reasons such as sale or promotion or just because I want to purchase them.

(I personally think this is a good part to consider, because I always tend to over

consume goods/ foods because of different reasons. And I really want to solve

this problem therefore by tracking this issue I might can find a solution.)

  • Beauty : How much I spend money + time on beauty and health(diet) maybe recording how I feel about it.

(Like other girls I do get stressful or consider a lot in beauty and health. I spend

time watching make up tutorials, fashion blog, spend time putting make up)  

During this weekend, because it was my first week I went to to shopping to buy things that I need, after I came back and unpacked goods, I felt that I bought things I already have or even too much. Because I tend to over consume, I tried to record things that I over consumed and I also found some things that I felt it was not necessary to buy. (size wise or amount wise)

  1. (1/20/17) Frozen fruits  – Aldi was on sale and I bought 3 packs of fruits. I would not buy if the fruit isn’t packed as frozen pack. (I would buy 2 packs if it wasn’t on sale) – Around 2 dollars over spent.
  2. (1/20/17) Ssamjang, Gochujang red pepper paste  – I bought Ssamjang because I invited one of my friends for the barbecue. I could have make Ssamjang using Gochujang and by mixing it with different ingredients. Also I totally forgot about that I already have Gochujang so I  bought SSamjang. (Spent $4.99)
  3. (1/21/17) Asian Pear  – I bought asian pears from Costco and I actually wanted only 2 of them, however I could not buy them separately. So I had to buy 3 pears more.
  4. (1/21/17) Too much cereals  – I bought 2 boxes of cereal from Traders Joe because I was having hard time to choose just one. Moreover I bought extra even though I already had unfinished cereal.
  5. (Sometime in December) Cat food – I had to buy extra small bag of cat food, because I forgot to pack cat food separately.
  6. (1/20/17) Slippers  – Bought this pig slipper from Target just because it was too cute.  I do not usually wear slipper, and I already know that I had another slipper. ($11.99)
  7. (1/20/17) Receipt from  Giant eagle grocery shopping I found out I over consumed in 6 different items (Box tissue, detergent, 2 apples, shampoo, 2 garlics and bag of chocolate)
  8. (1/22/17) Went to Petsmart and bought my cat’s new necklace. However I ended up buying Cat toys also. (Because they were Starwars dolls.)
  9. (1/21/17) Costco – Meat These were not on my shopping list, ($18.78, $17.79)
  10. (1/20/17) Tomatoes – Giant eagle. I only wanted to get 4-5 tomatoes, but they only sell by boxes, so I had to over consume.

page

While I was looking at the photos I realized that I over consume especially on food. I normally write down all the shopping list and try to remember what I have to buy. However I tend to buy extra things and spend more money. Because they were on sale, or packaged in a certain amount, and other reasons, I normally over consume and end up not using them or get rid off them because I could not finish eating before it goes bad.

While I was observing and trying to think these over-consumed products, I tried to think in different aspects and question myself to these thoughts.

As I go over, I expanded my thoughts not only to the product itself, but also its package. I found it is quite ironic to see how food products are packaged unsustainably even if food products are organic or grown by sustainable process, however the package of those products were not sustainable. Most of them were package with plastic bag, Styrofoam, or plastic wrap.

We all have different taste, portions, and needs. However most of the time, consumers end up buying more portion due to its package. In other words, consumers do not have much choice to be “sustainable”. Because food usually have expiration date, it is hard for us to ingest in right time. Or sometimes we end up forget about groceries we bought, so we forget to eat them in time.

I am currently more interested in second idea, so I decide to do more research on current grocery habit of others and think how can we provide an environment that can make people’s grocery habit be more sustainable.

In order to have better understanding with the problem that I came up with, (people tend to over-consume food due to different reasons) I went to different grocery stores in order to ask other people to find out if this problem statement is applied to other people and find out how they manage their fridge and groceries.

So I tried to observe not only their current fridge management habits but also their overall grocery shopping habits so we can find out what problems were the biggest ones, and where this problem is caused.

Conducted an interview – Most of the customers from the market were female customer therefore we had much more female interviewees.

40 people (17 male, 23 female)

Location: Giant Eagle (Market District), Campus, Aldi, Phone etc.

Asked 5 questions

  1. What method do you use keep track of your groceries?
  2. How do you choose what you want to buy at the grocery store? (i.e. based on planned meals, nutritional balance, etc.)
  3. What types of foods do you most often throw out? (i.e. produce, dairy, meats, etc.)
  4. Do you use any apps related to food? If yes, what apps are they and what do you like / dislike about them?
  5. What is the most challenging part of buying, planning, and cooking your meals? (i.e. grocery shopping, managing your fridge, planning meals, cooking meals)?

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-7-28-24-pm

Analysis 

  • 47% of Interviewers answered that they throw out produce food the most (Dairy 29%, Meats 12%)
  • Different problems based on age
  • Those 10-19 found finding time to cook most difficult.
  • Those 20-29 found managing their food / fridge most difficult.
  • Those 30-39 and 40-49 found planning their meals most difficult.
  • Those 50+ found physically getting to grocery store most difficult.
  • Only 10/40 (25%) of people use certain methods of fridge tracking
  • Only 2/40(5%) answered that they do not throw their food away.

Quotes

“I hate when I totally forget what I have in my fridge and find out that they are rotten, and I hate it when I have to eat outside when I planned out to cook and miss it.”

“I usually end up ordering food even though I do go to grocery shopping. Because sometimes I don’t know what to cook and I’m too lazy to find a recipe based on what I have now.”

I also conducted a short survey and we had 18ppl participated this survey and through this survey we asked ——- and we got 2.8 for the avg. score

= Which means they are (Not very confident/ satisfied with their fridge management habit)

In order to tackle based on the analysis from research that I conducted I conducted another interview to find out what kind of solutions that I can provide for the current problems.

Storyboard interview

screen-shot-2017-03-05-at-10-28-06-pm

In this situation, Lillian wants to have healthier meals and turns to Google to find recipes

  1. We found that most people (70%) relate to Lillian
  2. People say they would find recipes from their friends and from social media, like Tasty videos

screen-shot-2017-03-05-at-10-28-14-pm

In this situation, Karen realizes that her meals are haphazard and decides to plan out her meals for the week every week.

  1. We found that most people 60% of people can relate to her situation.
  2. 40% said they would pre-plan their meals, but were unsure
  3. 50% said they think pre-planning is not necessary

I also created a competitive analysis to find a current services to compare and contrast how current systems provides to the user.

Blue Apron, Hello Fresh, and Green Chef have the benefit of convenience, but the downside of price and variety of choice. 

Instacart and Amazon Pantry offer online ordering and delivery for a reasonable price, but with less tools to meal plan and order exact measurements. Emeals is a tool to help plan your meals, but it does not offer any other services. Giants/Martins, Pantry, and local grocery stores offer lower prices, and sometimes meal kits, but are highly inconvenient.

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 2.37.13 PM

Based on these researches, I thought providing a right portion for each customers is very important in order to lessen the food waste and interestingly I discovered that people were having hard time on to find a right recipe based on their fridge.

So I came up with few possible ideas that will help the consumers to

-Tracks foods you buy through receipt scanning, loyalty cards, etc.

-Notifies users when food is about to spoil

-Provides recipes for meals using ingredients already in you fridge

-Delivery service to restock your ingredients.

mainfunctions-Recovered

Leave a Reply

